"13 Voices" - Sum 41 [Full Album Stream + Zumic Review]

Francesco Marano

by Francesco Marano

Published October 7, 2016

Sum 41 have released 13 Voices through Hopeless Records. This is their sixth full-length studio album, and first since Screaming Bloody Murder in 2011.

This is the first album that the band appears as a 5-piece, and the first without founding drummer Steve Jocz. Band members on the release include Deryck Whibley (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards, piano), Dave Baksh (lead guitar, backing vocals), Tom Thacker (lead and rhythm guitar, backing vocals, keyboards), Jason McCaslin (bass guitar, backing vocals), and Frank Zummo (drums).

For a band that had faced a few lineup changes and personal obstacles, Sum 41 has weathered those bumps and given their fans something to feel good about. In 2014, Deryck entered a rehab facility for alcoholism, and shared how his recovery helped inspire the songwriting in an interview for Fuse:

I would go as far as to say it's a concept record about my entire experience. From being to end, I would say it's chronologically laid out, which I didn't intend to do at first. I just started writing and it came out. As it grew I realized what it was. At first, I didn't want to do that. When you're writing that personally, about yourself, you can fall into a thing or it just being a journal or a diary. As it started going I tried to find ways to make it sound more storytelling than journaling.

In addition to the honest and captivating lyrics that reference Deryck's experience, 13 Voices shows that the band can deliver loud, fast, energetic punk rock. "Goddamn I'm Dead Again" and "There Will Be Blood" are standout tracks that incorporate old school metal guitar riffs. Swelling, sing-along choruses in tunes like "Fake My Own Death" and "War" should have their fans shouting along in a concert atmosphere.

The 10-track, 37-minute LP was recorded at Deryck's home studio in California. Our favorite songs are "God Save Us All (Death to POP)," "Fake My Own Death," "War," "Goddamn I'm Dead Again," and "There Will Be Blood."

13 Voices is currently available on Amazon. You can also stream the full LP for free above, via Spotify.

Sum 41 are currently on the road with Senses Fail and As It Is for their Don’t Call It A Sum Back tour. For more about the band, check out their Zumic artist page.

Sum 41 13 Voices album cover art
Sum 41
Alt Rock Pop Punk
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.