"Aftershock" - Motörhead [Official Album Stream]

Evan Petersen

by Evan Petersen

Published October 16, 2013



Motörhead's Aftershock is streaming! The record comes out officially October 22nd, but we've been given an advance listen until then.

The record kicks off with "Heartbreaker" and pulses furiously until the very end, slowing down briefly for some riffy blues every now again, but remaining unrepentant Motörhead all the way through. The brutal shredding throughout means only one thing: Lemmy and the boys are still at the top of their game. The songs have riffs, leads, and rhythms all their own, but the album flows well as a whole and the sound is unmistakable.

Overall, the record holds up well against their massive catalog, and there are a few tunes that stick out above the rest. The slow groove of "Lost Woman Blues" is killer, building to a climactic return to the galloping metal of the rest of the record. That track is followed immediately by the relentless ferocity of "End of Time," which is sure to be an instant classic. "Crying Shame" (which we heard before) ends right before the savage "Queen Of The Damned" picks up with bass tone highly reminiscent of "Ace Of Spades." The record comes to a close with the super speedy "Paralyzed," but the abrupt end will force you to listen to the whole record again.

This is the benchmark rock and roll records should aspire to. Even a pretty good Motörhead record is a great record, and this is a great Motörhead record.




Aftershock tracklist:

01. Heartbreaker
02. Coup De Grace
03. Lost Woman Blues
04. End Of Time
05. Do You Believe
06. Death Machine
07. Dust And Glass
08. Going To Mexico
09. Silence When You Speak To Me
10. Crying Shame
11. Queen Of The Damned
12. Knife
13. Keep Your Powder Dry
14. Paralyzed

Pre-order Aftershock via Amazon.

Metal Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.