"Ain't No Hat 4 That" - Robin Thicke [SoundCloud]

Zumic Staff

by Zumic Staff

Published July 17, 2013

Robin Thicke has been very generous with the songs on his upcoming album Blurred Lines, due on July 30th, and has been releasing nearly one single per week since the debut of his single of the same name.

He released the latest song off the album today "Ain't No Hat 4 That," which is funky, upbeat and a little retro-pop. The lyrics are surprisingly PG for Thicke, who uses sex as a lens for almost every song he writes. This time, however, he refrained.

Instead, "Ain't No Hat 4 That" is about a woman who is caught up in the superficial, and boasts lyrics like:

“You got your cure for anxious/ You got your pill for bad/ But your fancy shoes and handbag/ Can’t help you when you’re sad/ ‘Cause there ain’t no hat for that”

Maybe the toned-down lyrics are due to the fact that Thicke co-wrote "Ain't No Hat 4 That" with his father, Alan Thicke. And little kid in the intro? Robin's 3 year-old son Julian. If only Alan had gotten in on the vocals too. Alas.

Enjoy the new song above and keep an eye out for Blurred Lines when it is officially released on the 30th. In the meantime we've created a checklist to keep track of the songs we already have, and the ones we're still missing. (Hint: We're missing four)

Blurred Lines Track List:
1. "Blurred Lines" feat. T.I. and Pharrell — Check
2. "Take It Easy On Me" — Check
3. "Ooo La La "
4. "Ain't No Hat 4 That" — (obviously) Check
5. "Get In My Way"
6. "Give It 2 U" feat. Kendrick Lamar — Check
7. "Feel Good"
8. "Go Stupid 4 U" — Check
9. "4 The Rest Of My Life" — Check
10. "Top Of The World"
11. "The Good Life" — Check


Robin Thicke
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.