Album Review: Bear Ceuse <em>Don Domestique</em>

Evan Petersen

by Evan Petersen

Published July 11, 2013


Originally from the Midwest, Bear Ceuse, released their debut album, Don Domestique, via Medical Records this week. Now NYC-based, this indie rock band, whose influences include Thin Lizzy, Superchunk, and Yo La Tengo, delves into the the "90s hardcore sound of Chapel Hill." With two classically trained musicians - Jordan James, a Julliard student, on bass and New School alum Danny Scher on drums - led by Cameron Matthew's rough and raspy vocals and Adam Horne on guitar, these guys are on the path to success.

Don Domestique starts out with "My Friends." Upon listening to a little less than the first minute, we get a taste of slow piano notes and Matthew's soft vocals which quickly build up to a heavy guitar filled chorus, then ends with a horn and guitar solo. It's crazy. We rarely hear this type of experimental horn in rock other than ska these days. The distinct sound of "My Friends" continues into "All Out Of A Hat." Several tempo changes, choppy guitar, and the brief vocal pauses remind us of MGMT's experimental style, but less psychedelic and more rock.

"Dixie Brothers," the fast and loud indie pop / rock track, gets us bopping along. Gotta help out our Dixie brothers and Tennessee sisters. Enjoy this two minute track before its gone. Of course, you can just hit play again. The articulate "Ok-La-Ee-Ohma" has nostalgic sound of the 90s and serves as a standout track of Don Domestique.

“Entertain Me," gives off a pop vibe that shows they've been heavily influenced by the sounds of the 80s and 90s. You might even hear a little of U2's influence in Horne's fuzzy guitar.

Don Domestique, an album two years in the making, reflects the bands hard work. Each song complements one another showcasing Bear Ceuse's unique sound, especially Cameron Matthew's husky vocals and Adam Horne's hard rocking guitar skills.

Prominent Tracks: "This Or That," "Dixie Brothers," "Ok-La-Ee-Ohma," and "I Saw It Beating."

If you are near New York and looking to check out Bear Ceuse live, come to their record release show July 20th at The Rock Shop in Brooklyn. They will be joined by Radical Dads, The Can't Tells and Amy Klein (of Leda, Hilly Eye).

Don Domestique is available now via Bandcamp and will be available via iTunes & Spotify July 22


Don Domestique Track Listing:
1. "My Friends"
2. "All Out Of A Hat"
3. "Dixie Brothers"
4. "Ok-La-Ee-Ohma"
5. "Entertain Me"
6. "I Saw It Beating"
7. "This or That"
8. "Streets of Something Good"
9. "God's Looking Down"
10. "Yes Man"

Alternative Rock Indie-Rock Rock
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics