"Anjunadeep 06" - James Grant & Jody Wisternoff [Official Full Album Stream + Zumic Review]

Zumic Staff

by Zumic Staff

Published September 30, 2015

Anjunadeep 06, a two CD, 30+ track compilation album, was released on September 8, 2014 by Anjunadeep, an independent record label based in London.

The record label was started in 2005 by Above & Beyond, the British progressive trance group. Above & Beyond is known for transporting live performances which convert fans to followers, and a weekly radio show, Group Therapy Radio, featuring the world's best new trance music.

The label represents the leading producers of deep house, deep trance, and progressive house music. This is the sixth Anjunadeep compilation album showcasing the many artists on the label. The compilations are mixed by Jody Wisternoff and James Grant, brother of Jono Grant, one of the three members of Above & Beyond.

Anjunadeep describes the album:

The sixth instalment of their iTunes Dance Chart-topping series sees Anjunadeep showcase the label’s sound across two discs of ambient electronica, melodic deep house, upfront garage and spacey techno. For the first time, both CD’s are mixed not by one artist apiece, but by both James Grant and Jody Wisternoff as a duo, allowing for a true journey through the Anjunadeep sound.

This compilation features tracks with the most soulful melodies and slowest bpms of the Anjunadeep compilations.

In an interview with MTV, label founder Jody Wisternoff comments:

The way it begins is kind of deeper than deep,” says Wisternoff. “The BPMs are a lot lower than anything we’ve done on the label before.

In an interview with Earmilk, Wisternoff explains further what 'deep' means:

“Deep” maybe not always in production or sound, but “deeply emotion” is a good way to think about it. Not experimental, jazzy deep or something, like Rhodes piano or something. And I hate to call it “mainstream” but maybe more easily understood deep, you know what I mean?

Anjunadeep06 is available to purchase on Amazon (CD, MP3)

More information is available on the

Anjunabeats Aquilo cubicolor Dusky Hvob Lane 8 Ólafur Arnalds
Electronic House Trance
Send Feedback
recommended music
image for article CMJ 2014 Announces Initial Artist Lineup at Bowery Electric, NYC 8.27.2014 [Zumic Review + Photos]
August 28, 2014
News Indie Bambara Bear's Den Bombay Bicycle Club Bully Cold War Kids Courtney Barnett Daniel Avery dma's Dune Rats Dusky Heat homeshake Hunters Juan Wauters Luluc Matthew Dear Meatbodies Money Moon Duo Moon Taxi Nick Hakim Odonis Odonis Orchestra of Spheres PINS Porches Potty Mouth Pro Era Protomartyr Purling Hiss rac Room Full of Strangers Saint Pepsi Sam Roberts Band San Fermin Shonen Knife Slothrust Slowdive teddy midnight The Kickback The Kills The Rua The Wytches Tom Trago Tor Miller Twin Peaks VÉRITÉ Zella Day Argentina Central & South America Manhattan, NY New York, NY 2:54 A-Lin Andrew Cedermark Audego Avid Dancer Ayer Bad//Dreams Ballet School Bikini Carwash Bliss Blood And Al Street Bored Nothing Cathedrals Celebration Chandos Cheerleader Curtain Dan & Shay D.D Dumbo Dead Tenants Doe Paoro Dog Bite Dog G Doprah Eastern Hollows Eluveite Faded Paper Figures Faux Ferocious Feverer Free Time Gem Club Gerard Way Glass Towers Greys Grmln Guy Blakeslee Haybaby Horse Thief Ice Balloons Johnny Lewis Jpnsgrls Kate Boy Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires Luantan Ascent Made In Heights Marc Edward & Slip Stream Time Travel Me Chinese Mt. Royal Nuns Obn IIIs Old Monk Orenda Fink Public Access TV Public Speaking Red Oblivion Reigning Sound Reversus Robot Death Kites Sampology Shelly Burgnon Spreaders Taymir The Living Kills The Recordettes Tiger Dare Tom Vek Ultimate Painting Veda Rays Walter TV Watercolours Wayna Whiskey Bitches White Fences Yellerkin Young Magic Yumi Zourma Zeahorse
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.