"Due North" - The Marcus King Band [Full EP Stream + Zumic Review]

Francesco Marano

by Francesco Marano

Published October 27, 2017


To say that Marcus King is a guitar prodigy would be an understatement. The 21 year-old guitarist/singer/songwriter started cutting his teeth in music at a very young age, and his 2015 debut album Soul Insight was favorably received. 

Today, The Marcus King Band has released a 4-song EP titled Due North. The collection features three studio tracks (Produced by Gov't Mule frontman Warren Haynes) and a live medley. The songs were recorded at The Carriage House Studio in Stamford, Connecticut during the sessions for the band's self-titled sophomore album. 

Opening with the blazing "What's Right," Marcus puts his guitar mastery on full display with Hendrix-esque playing and deep, soulful vocals. King shifts towards a jazzy and R&B sound for the Marshall Tucker Band's 1974 song "This Ol' Cowboy," including bright horns and a clean guitar tone. 

Supporting Marcus is bassist Stephen Campbell, drummer Jack Ryan, saxophonist Dean Mitchell, and trumpeter Justin Johnson. Their expertise are evident on the track "Slip Back," which employs a funky groove highlighted by skillful solos. Closing out the EP is a nearly 15-minute medley of 5 songs that demonstrates the band's versatility and command of several musical styles.

Due North is currently available on Amazon. You can also stream the full EP for free above, via Spotify.

The band is currently on a North America tour until the end of the year. For concert tickets and more, check out The Marcus King Band's Zumic artist page.

The Marcus King Band Due North EP cover art


The Marcus King Band
Blues Rock Southern Rock
Send Feedback
recommended music
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.