Empire of the Sun Returns with Album Trailer for New LP

Miranda Barros

by Miranda Barros

Published March 11, 2013


Empire of the Sun returns with the announcement of a new LP, Ice on the Dune—and an awesome trailer reminiscent of the sci-fi drama series Lost to accompany it. The Australian electro-pop duo of Luke Steele and and Nick Littlemore will release the follow-up to their 2008 album Walking on a Dream this June via EMI.

The band hasn't shared any tour dates yet, but they will be out on the road starting May. They are, however, confirmed to perform at this year's Wilderness Festival.

Before watching the trailer below, you might want to read this little bit from the press release on the album's concept.

'Once, the world was pure. It was the Emperor and the Prophet who kept it thus. Each day, they charted the sun’s course across the sky, guided rivers down from mountain peaks, brought rains to quench raging fires.

With the aid of their four priests, who possessed spirits of wild animals, they travelled the world tirelessly, maintaining nature’s delicate balance, allowing all things to grow and flourish -- always with the aid of the sacred jewel held atop the Emperor’s crown...

But one night, as the Emperor slumbered, recovering from his labours, true darkness appeared. The King of Shadows, ever the bitter foe of the Empire, and all it had achieved, crept into their temple. Craving the Emperor’s power, he stole the jewel from his crown-- and in an instant the world was changed.

Robbed of the bulk of his power, the Emperor and the Prophet watched helplessly as their temple was torn asunder, and their priests cast far out into the world.

But even in that moment, when all appeared lost, there was one thing that the King of Shadows black heart simply could not have imagined... The Emperor and the Prophet have never abandoned hope.'

Source: Pitchfork

Electro Rock Electronic Pop
Send Feedback