"Event II" - Deltron 3030 [Spotify Album Stream]

Patrick Lyons

by Patrick Lyons

Published September 23, 2013

Hip Hop nerds, brace yourselves to return to the world of Deltron 3030 for a second time. It's been 13 years since your last trip to that dystopian landscpe, but with crew members Del the Funky Homosapien, Dan the Automator and Kid Koala all returning for duty, you'll feel like you never left.

Event II is set 980 years after Deltron 3030, in the year 4010, with Galactic Rhyme Federation Champion Deltron Zero defending his title while rebelling against the oppressive government of the future. Though Del's mech soldier-in-arms Prince Paul has seemingly jetted away into other corners of the galaxy (or, more likely, was assassinated by diabolical government agents), our hero has assembled quite the motley crew to assist in his revolutionary struggle.

Actors Joseph Gordon-Levitt, David Cross, Amber Tamblyn and Mary Elizabeth Winstead, as well as Momofuku chef David Chang all provide commentary on everyday life in 4010, from waiting for hover-sandwiches to land before eating, to offering beluga caviar to customers at a restaurant. Comedy troupe the Lonely Island also give a hilarious sequel to 3030's nonsense-rap masterpiece "Meet Cleofis Randolph the Patriarch," in which they all adopt old man voices.

Elsewhere, Damon Albarn returns to Del's world to bemoan the lonliness of the future, and Alt Metal gods Zach de la Rocha and Mike Patton provide vicious diatribes against 4010's cruel oligarchy. Check out the video for Patton's contribution, "City Rising from the Ashes," here. All in all, the star-studded cast fits quite well into Del, Dan and Koala's intricately constructed world.

Stream the full album above, check out the tracklist below, and pre-order the Deluxe Edition of Event II on iTunes.

1. "Stardate" (feat. Joseph Gordon-Levitt)
2. "The Return"
3. "Pay the Price"
4. "Nobody Can" (feat. Aaron Bruno of AWOLNATION)
5. "Lawnchair Quarterback Pt. 1" (feat. David Cross and Amber Tamblyn)
6. "Melding of the Minds" (feat. Zach De La Rocha)
7. "The Agony" (feat. Mary Elizabeth Winstead)
8. "Back in the Day" (feat. The Lonely Island)
9. "Talent Supersedes" (feat. Black Rob)
10. "Look Across the Sky" (feat. Mary Elizabeth Winstead)
11. "The Future of Food" (feat. David Chang)
12. "My Only Love" (feat. Emily Wells)
13. "What Is This Loneliness" (feat. Damon Albarn and Casual)
14. "Lawnchair Quarterback Pt. 2" (feat. David Cross and Amber Tamblyn)
15. "City Rising From the Ashes" (feat. Mike Patton)
16. "Do You Remember" (feat. Jamie Cullum)


Damon Albarn Del The Funky Homosapien Deltron 3030 Jamie Cullum Mike Patton The Lonely Island
Hip Hop Trip Hop West Coast Rap
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.