First Annual YouTube Music Awards Streaming Live at 6 PM EST 11.3.13 [YouTube Video]

Evan Petersen

by Evan Petersen

Published November 3, 2013

Hosted by Jason Schwartzman and Reggie Watts, and directed by Spike Jonze, the 2013 YouTube Music Awards are streaming live via--you guessed it--YouTube. In addition to the announcement of the awards themselves, there will be a slew of live performances, including top names like Arcade Fire, Lady Gaga, and Eminem. Avicii, M.I.A., Earl Sweatshirt, Tyler the Creator, and Walk Off the Earth are also slated to perform. Set to broadcast from Manhattan's Pier 36, the show will begin at 6 PM EST.

The nominees and categories for the 2013 YouTube Music Awards include:

Video of the Year – videos with most fan engagement: Miley Cyrus, “We Can’t Stop”; Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj), “Beauty and a Beat”; Lady Gaga, “Applause”; One Direction, “Best Song Ever”; PSY, “Gentleman”; Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) “Same Love”; Girls’ Generation “I Got A Boy”; Demi Lovato, “Heart Attack”; Selena Gomez, “Come & Get It”; Epic Rap Battles Of History, “Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney.”

Artist of the Year – most watched, shared, liked, and subscribed-to artists: Eminem, Epic Rap Battles of History, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Nicki Minaj, One Direction, PSY, Rihanna, Taylor Swift

Response of the Year – best fan remix, parody or response video: Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) “Mirrors”; Jayesslee, “Gangnam Style”; Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix, “Radioactive”; ThePianoGuys, “Titanium/Pavane”; Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX), “I Knew You Were Trouble”

YouTube Phenomenon – songs that generated the most fan videos: ”Diamonds,” ”Gangnam Style,” ”Harlem Shake,” ”I Knew You Were Trouble,” ”Thrift Shop”

YouTube Breakthrough – artists with biggest growth in views and subscribers: Kendrick Lamar, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Naughty Boy, Passenger, Rudimental

Innovation of the Year – creative video innovations with most views, likes, shares and comments: Anamanaguchi, “Endless Fantasy”; Atoms For Peace, “Ingenue”; Bat For Lashes, “Lilies”; DeStorm, “See Me Standing”; Toro Y Moi, “Say That”

Watch the full 90-minute broadcast above and stay tuned to Zumic for recaps and replays.


Source: YouTube

Arcade Fire Avicii Earl Sweatshirt Eminem Lady Gaga M.I.A. Reggie Watts Tyler, The Creator Walk Off the Earth
Awards Electronic Hip Hop Indie Miscellaneous Pop Rock Stage & Screen
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.