"Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" - Jay Reatard (Nirvana Cover) [SoundCloud Audio Stream]

Evan Petersen

by Evan Petersen

Published March 12, 2014

Before his untimely passing in 2010, Jay Reatard recorded an amazing cover of "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" from Nirvana's In Utero. At the time, his website released the song as it was, but now, in anticipation of Record Store Day 2014, Robotic Empire has released a stellar remastered version slated to be on their new Nirvana tribute, In Utero: In Tribute: In Entirety.

The song sees Jay at his finest, with earnest passion leading the way. Clean guitar layered with fuzzy fury abounds throughout, making for a multi-textured song with Jay's signature sound. A wild solo cuts in and commits an aural assault before the song drops out to a simple acoustic breakdown leading into the final chorus. Listen to the tribute above.

SoundCloud description:

Jay Reatard's cover of Nirvana's "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" off the album "In Utero: In Tribute: In Entirety". One of Jay's final recordings - R.I.P.

Available to pre-order now on iTunes

Released April 19th, 2014 digitally and physically, the vinyl as part of Record Store Day 2014.

In Utero: In Tribute: In Entirety tracklist:

01. Pygmy Lush – “Serve the Servants”
02. Circa Survive – “Scentless Apprentice”
03. These Arms Are Snakes – “Heart-Shaped Box”
04. Thursday – “Rape Me”
5. Jay Reatard – “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle”
06. Young Widows – “Dumb”
7. Mean Jeans – “Very Ape”
8. Thou – “Milk It”
09. Whirr – “Pennyroyal Tea”
10. Daughters – “Radio Friendly Unit Shifter”
11. Ceremony – “Tourette’s”
12. Black Math Horseman – “All Apologies”


Source: Robotic Empire SoundCloud

Alternative Rock Grunge Indie Rock
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics