“Ideas+drafts+loops” Outtakes Compilation - Flying Lotus [Free Download & Tracklist]

Zumic Staff

by Zumic Staff

Published December 10, 2013

During a Twitter Q&A session yesterday, Flying Lotus revealed that his new album is nearing completion:

Today, to celebrate reaching 300,000 Twitter followers, FlyLo tweeted links to a free download of an outtakes compilation entitled Ideas+drafts+loops, which features contributions by The Underachievers, Earl Sweatshirt, Shabazz Palaces, Baths and Thundercat, the latter of whom assists on a remix of Kanye West's "Black Skinhead" (above):

The entire hour-long compilation is available to download via both Mediafire and/or Sendspace.

Unlike FlyLo's albums, which each seem to contain a distinct vibe, Ideas+drafts+loops houses a plethora of styles, from stoned hip-hop to avant garde jazz to trip-hop and back again. The whole thing's relatively unpolished and awkwardly tossed together, but FlyLo's wide-ranging ideas make him one of the rare artists whose jettisoned demos can rival his peers' carefully-crafted albums.

The compilation contains a few recognizable nuggets of previously-released material, all of which are slightly altered from their original forms. "Colemans Groove" is a ghostly version of the beat he gave Hodgy Beats for "Lately;" "Aqua Teen 24" is his theme song for Aqua TV Show Show, minus the cartoon characters' voices; "Between Friends" was released this summer as part of the Adult Swim Singles program, albeit with Lotus rapping as his pitched-down Captain Murphy alias (this new version is the first time we've ever head him rapping in his real voice). But for every familiar song, there are two new ones. Plus, this thing is free, so you can't really lose anything by downloading it.

Stay tuned for FlyLo's upcoming proper album, and check out his Zumic artist page for more music, videos and news.

Ideas+drafts+loops tracklist:

1. About That Time
2. Adventure Sound (feat. The Underachievers)
3. An XBOX Killed My Dog
4. Aqua Teen 24
5. Between Villains (feat. Viktor Vaughn & Earl Sweatshirt)
6. Chasing Apples
7. Colemans Groove (feat. Andreya Triana and Niki Randa)
8. Coswered draft
9. Flotus
10. DJ Medhi – Mapei Ideas 1 Mix
11. Hide Me (feat. Shabazz Palaces)
12. Little Hours (feat. Baths)
13. Meadow Man 2
14. Oatmeal Face
15. Osaka Trade
16. Puppet Talk
17. Stonecutters
18. Such a Square
19. The Diddler
20. The In Between
21. The Kill (feat. Niki Randa)
22. Black Skinhead Remix (feat. Thundercat)
23. Tree Tunnels
24. Wake Me

Source: Flying Lotus Official Twitter
Via: IllRoots

Baths Flying Lotus Shabazz Palaces The Underachievers Thundercat
Ambient Electronic Dubstep Electronic Funk Hip Hop Indie Hip Hop Jazz Trip Hop
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.