"Indie Cindy" - Pixies [YouTube Official Video]

Zumic Staff

by Zumic Staff

Published September 3, 2013

The Pixies are back with their first all new studio recording in 22 years. After teasing fans with a digital download and music video for "Bagboy" this summer, the band has released a brand new 4 song EP.

Entitled EP-1, this is the first of an uncertain number of EPs to be released over the next 15 months, likely with no more warning than this one. The band is now putting their music out without the help of a label, so you can buy the EP as a digital download or limited edition vinyl through the Pixies' official website.

In a recent interview with the New York Times, Charles Thompson, aka Black Francis, discussed the themes of the new songs:

“It’s all about self-doubt. It says to the audience, I don’t know if this romance has still got what it needs to happen again. I don’t know if you’ll accept me; I don’t know if I accept you. But we have this memory. Can we do it again?”

Although Kim Deal, the Pixies' longtime bassist, has left the band, they are soldiering on with bass player Simon Archer, aka Ding, on the studio recordings and Kim Shattuck of Muffs fame filling in on their upcoming tour.

Check out "Indie Cindy" above and its accompanying darker-than-hell music video and be sure to go buy the limited edition 10" vinyl before it sells out. You can read the full New York Times feature story here.

EP-1 tracklist:
1. Andro Queen
2. Another Toe In The Ocean
3. Indie Cindy
4. What Goes Boom


Via: Stereogum

Alt Rock Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.