"Intro" - Ratatat [YouTube Official Music Video]

Noah Zipper

by Noah Zipper

Published May 14, 2015

Brooklyn-based electronic / alt-rock duo RATATAT have just released a new music video for a track off their upcoming album, Magnifique. This follows the single "Cream On Chrome," released the night of their Coachella performance back in April.

The track "Intro" is musically very strange, beginning with a metronome giving way to a modulated but unmistakably classical piano melody, and slowly weaving in the band's signature harmonizing guitars. Even though it eventually changes to resemble something closer to their existing music, it ends too quickly to fully realize its evolution, acting as an -- aptly named -- introduction.

The video, directed by bandmember Evan Mast (aka E*vax), isn't any less strange. It portrays various scenes documenting a "performance" of the track, often packing in visual spoofs on top of actual footage of the song being played. Magnifique is set to be released July 17 via XL Records, and you can find the album artwork as well as the track listing below.

Ratatat Magnifique Track List

01 Intro
02 Cream on Chrome
03 Magnifique
04 Abrasive
05 Countach
06 Drift
07 Pricks of Brightness
08 Nightclub Amnesia
09 Cold Fingers
10 Supreme
11 Rome
12 Primetime
13 I Will Return
14 Outro

For RATATAT's music, news, and tour dates, check out their Zumic artist page.


Magnifique Album Cover

Source: RATATAT Official YouTube Channel

Alternative Rock Electronic Electronic-Rock
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics