"Jokerman" - Built To Spill (Bob Dylan Cover) [SoundCloud Audio & Free Download]

Brad Bershad

by Brad Bershad

Published January 22, 2014

Part of what makes Bob Dylan such a great songwriter is that countless artists have reinterpreted his songs and the songs really have a life of their own. On March 25th of this year, a new tribute album will be released called Bob Dylan In The 80s: Volume One. You can pre-order vinyl, digital download, and CD versions of the record at ATO Records.

The first single from the album released on the internet is Built To Spill's version of "Jokerman" which first appeared on Dylan's Infidels in 1983. The original song had a reggae vibe, but Built To Spill gives it more of a straight forward garage rock vibe. Check out the original:

Bob Dylan In The 80s: Volume One Tracklist:

01. Langhorne Slim & The Law – “Got My Mind Made Up”
02. Built to Spill – “Jokerman”
03. Reggie Watts – “Brownsville Girl (Reprise)”
04. Craig Finn – “Sweetheart Like You”
05. Ivan & Alyosha – “You Changed My Life”
06. Deer Tick – “Night After Night”
07. Dawn Landes & Bonnie “Prince” Billy – “Dark Eyes”
08. Tea Leaf Green – “Waiting To Get Beat”
09. Aaron Freeman & Slash – “Wiggle Wiggle”
10. Elvis Perkins – “Congratulations”
11. Hannah Cohen – “Covenant Woman”
12. Marco Benevento – “Every Grain Of Sand”
13. Yellowbirds – “Series Of Dreams”
14. Blitzen Trapper – “Unbelievable”
15. Lucius – “When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky”
16. Glen Hansard – “Pressing On”
17. Carl Broemel – “Death Is Not The End


Source: ATO Records SoundCloud
Via: Consequence of Sound

Bob Dylan Built to Spill
Alt Rock Americana Classic Rock Folk Folk Rock Garage Rock Psychedelic Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.