Kurt Vile - Full Performance Live on KEXP [Official Youtube Video]

Nick Giannettino

by Nick Giannettino

Published June 11, 2013

Kurt Vile and friends stopped by 90.3 KEXP Seattle Radio last Mother's Day to showcase new material from Vile's most recent and much loved record, Wakin On A Pretty Daze. Vile is joined by his original Violator Jesse Trbovich on guitar, as well as new additions to the group - Priestess' Vince Nudo on drums and Rob Laakso on bass. Touring companion, fellow Philadelphian, and "master finger-picking guy" Steve Gunn also joins the band, playing lead guitar for all three songs.

After their first tune, "Wakin On A Pretty Day," KEXP host Stevie Zoom briefly interviews Vile and the group on the new album, touching on the Violator's choice to jam out on the record, their affiliations with certain studios during the recording of the album, and the mural featured on Wakin On A Pretty Daze's cover. Afterwords they jump right into their next two songs, "KV Crimes" and "Girl Named Alex."

Be sure to check out Wakin On A Pretty Daze, out now on Vile's Matador Records, and enjoy this laid-back performance from an even more than laid-back group of dudes. Setlist with video times below:

"Wakin On A Pretty Day" - 00:24
"KV Crimes" - 16:24
"Girl Named Alex" - 21:58

Americana Folk Folk Rock Indie-Rock Psychedelic Radio Rock Kurt Vile Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA Seattle, WA Washington KEXP Kurt Vile & The Violators
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics