"Law and Order" - Jonathan Rado (of Foxygen) [Spotify Album Stream]

Brad Bershad

by Brad Bershad

Published August 27, 2013

Foxygen's Jonathan Rado released his first solo album, Law and Order, on September 3rd on the Woodsist label. On Pitchfork Advance, the only other credited musician is Tim Presley (of Darker My Love and also known as White Fence), who does guitar work.

It's a psychedelic romp that's definitely got a harder edge than the latest Foxygen album, but Foxygen fans should find familiarity in the lush textures and meandering grooves. There's also a backing female vocalist, akin to Foxygen. The album has a lot of sonic experimentation, especially on the guitars and vocals, over a really solid mix of analog instruments from drums and fat bass to organ, piano, and strings. There is some very interesting interplay between extreme overdrive distortion and extremely clean sounds from song to song.

Most of the album sounds like '60s psych pop, but the last song, "Pot of Gold" is a complete curveball as it goes into an '80s vibe that sounds a lot like "What's Love Got To Do With It" by Tina Turner. Perhaps this is the pot of gold at the end of the psychedelic rainbow?


1. Seven Horses
2. Hand in Mine
3. Looking 4a Girl Like U
4. Dance Away Your Ego
5. I Wood
6. Faces
7. Oh, Suzanna!
8. All the Lights Went Out in Georgia
9. I Wanna Feel it Now!!!
10. Would You Always Be At Home?
11. Law & Order
12. Pot of Gold

Click here to purchase the album on vinyl & CD
Click here to purchase the album on iTunes


Foxygen Jonathan Rado
Garage Rock Psychedelic Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.