MGMT Announce Release Date For Self-Titled Third Album

Michael Charboneau

by Michael Charboneau

Published June 25, 2013


MGMT have announced that they will release their self-titled third album on September 17th. Ben Goldwasser and Andrew VanWyngarden, the duo behind MGMT, took a turn for the spacey and psychedelic with their last album, 2010's Congratulations, and it appears the pair have decided to continue down that track with MGMT. Check out "Alien Days," a single from the album released for Record Store Day, to get a taste of what's to come.

According to the MGMT website, Goldwasser and VanWyngarden recorded the album at Tarbox Road Studios outside of Buffalo, NY. They decided to ditch their live band, which they used to record Congratulations, and record MGMT by themselves. They did, however, enlist the help of "longtime collaborator" David Fridmann, who had a hand in the band's debut album, Oracular Spectacular, and Congratulations. Fridmann has worked with The Flaming Lips and Tame Impala as well.

MGMT weighs in at 10 tracks, including a cover of the song "Introspection" by the '60s psych group Faine Jade. The duo sought "to expand the boundaries of modern pop music" with the album by expressing their "surrealist view of the everyday." In an interview with Rolling Stone, the pair and their producer explained how many of the tracks came about from hours-long jam sessions. "The recording process was really strange," remarked Fridmann. Illustrating their interest in exploring new sounds, the group pointed to house music and British electronic musican Aphex Twin as influences for the album.

Apparently audio alone can't contain the band's ambition. Besides the music, each copy of the new album will also include "The Optimizer," a bundle of video and CGI that will create a "simultaneously aural & optical listening experience." They plan to create the visual content this summer, with the help of a number of videographers and animators. While Goldwasser and VanWyngarden aren't catering to those with Top 40 tastes, their sonic experiments will definitely lead to some lovably weird and groundbreaking new music. Take a look at the full tracklist for MGMT below.

Alien Days
Cool Song No. 2
Mystery Disease
Your Life Is a Lie
A Good Sadness
I Love You Too, Death
Plenty Of Girls In the Sea
An Orphan Of Fortune

Electronic-Rock In The Studio Indie-Rock Psychedelic
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics