"Midnight Marauders 20th Anniversary Mixtape" - Chris Read [Wax Poetics SoundCloud Stream]

Patrick Lyons

by Patrick Lyons

Published November 12, 2013

This week marks the 20th anniversary of two very important New York hip-hop albums: The Wu-Tang Clan's Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) and A Tribe Called Quest's Midnight Marauders. Thusly, there have been many commemorations, tributes and retrospectives, but none as creative and fun as DJ Chris Read's "Midnight Marauders 20th Anniversary Mixtape," which blends the album together with the songs it samples.

ATCQ rose to prominence in an era when sampling was much more commonplace in hip-hop, when albums like De La Soul's 3 Feet High and Rising and Beastie Boys' Paul's Boutique were made using samples from 60+ songs (105 in the case of Paul's Boutique). For that reason, Read had a wealth of songs -- by artists ranging from James Brown to Roy Ayers -- at his disposal to blend with Midnight Marauders tracks. And oh, what masterful blending it is.

Read provides a seamless 45 minute mix that serves to educate Tribe fans about the obscure influences that the seminal group drew from when creating one of their best albums. It's perfect for music nerds and casual fans alike, but probably more interesting to geeks like me who love being able to pick samples out from hip-hop tracks.

If you too find that this mix makes you nerdgasm uncontrollably, check out hip-hop culture website Babylon Cartel's similar mixes for recent albums such as Yeezus, good kid, m.A.A.d city and Take Care. Though they feature only the samples and none of the actual album tracks, the mixes are still great.

Check out the "Midnight Marauders 20th Anniversary Mixtape" tracklist and SoundCloud info below, and pray that Chris Read makes one of these for Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers).

SoundCloud description & tracklist:

To mark the twentieth anniversary of A Tribe Called Quest's 1993 classic Midnight Marauders, Chris Read has expertly crafted an exclusive mixtape for Wax Poetics and Who Sampled.

Listen up and enjoy!


1. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘Award Tour’ (Instrumental)
2. Chris Read – ‘Theme #3′ (Scratchapella)
3. Busy Bee & Rodney Cee – ‘MC Battle’ (Extract) (Sampled in ‘Sucka Nigga’)
4. Jack Wilkins – ‘Red Clay’ (Sampled in ‘Sucka Nigga’)
5. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘Sucka Nigga’
6. Roy Ayers – ‘Feel Like Makin’ Love’ (Sampled in ‘Keep It Rollin’)
7. A Tribe Called Quest feat Large Professor – ‘Keep It Rollin’
8. Bob James – ‘Nautlilus’ (Loop) (Sampled in ‘Clap Your Hands’)
9. The Meters – ‘Handclapping Song’ (Sampled in ‘Clap Your Hands’)
10. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘Clap Your Hands’
11. Lou Donaldson – ‘Ode To Billie Joe’ (Loop) (Sampled in ‘Clap Your Hands’)
12. Bola Sete – ‘Bettina’ (Sampled in ’8 Million Stories’)
13. A Tribe Called Quest – ’8 Million Stories’
14. Biz Markie – ‘Nobody Beats The Biz’ (Extract) (Sampled in ‘The Chase Pt II’)
15. Steve Arrington – ‘Beddy Biey’ (Sampled in ‘The Chase Pt II’)
16. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘The Chase Pt II’
17. Michal Urbaniak Group -’ Ekim‘ (Sampled in ‘Steve Biko’)
18. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘Steve Biko’
19. The Whatnauts – ‘Why Can’t People Be Colours Too?’ (Sampled in ‘Oh My God’)
20. Kool & The Gang – ‘Who’s Gonna take The Weight’ (Sampled in ‘Oh My God’)
21. A Tribe Called Quest feat Busta Rhymes – ‘Oh My God’
22. Jimmy McGriff – ‘Dig On It’ (Sampled in ‘God Lives Through’)
23. The JBs – ‘Gimme Some More’ (Extract) (Sampled in ‘God Lives Through’)
24. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘God Lives Through’
25. Clyde McPhatter – ‘Mixed Up Cup’ (Loop) (Sampled in ‘Lyrics To Go’)
26. Ronnie Foster – ‘Mystic Brew’ (Sampled in ‘Electric Relaxation’)
27. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘Electric Relaxation’
28. James Brown – ‘Just Enough Room For Storage’ (Sampled in ‘Lyrics To Go’)
29. Minnie Riperton – ‘Inside My Love’ (Sampled in ‘Lyrics To Go’)
30. A Tribe Called Quest – ‘Lyrics To Go’


Source: Wax Poetics Official SoundCloud Page

A Tribe Called Quest
East Coast Rap Funk Hip Hop Jazz Oldies
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.