"Nothing To It" - Jim James, Elvis Costello & Marcus Mumford [YouTube Official Lyric Video]

Fanny Wynn

by Fanny Wynn

Published August 19, 2014

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes is project that has been in the making for almost fifty years. The project began in 1967, when Bob Dylan and The Band gathered in a small house in upstate New York and recorded over a hundred songs in the span of a few months. This collaboration created some of Dylan's biggest hits, including "I Shall Be Released," "The Mighty Quinn," and "You Ain't Going Nowhere." These three songs and fourteen others were officially released by Columbia Records in 1975 on The Basement Tapes, but the remaining songs never came out except as bootlegs.

Last autumn, Dylan's publisher gave T. Bone Burnett a collection of lyrics from the legendary 1967 recording sessions and asked the producer to make something out of it. Burnett gathered a group of renowned musicians including Elvis Costello, Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes), and Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons) to create a project using the singer-songwriter's unreleased songs. Now, fans finally get a listen to what these artists have created.

The song is called "Nothing To It" and you can watch the official lyric video above. The video features some colorful artwork as well as Dylan's actual handwritten lyrics. In the lyrics, one can tell the musician was addressing some hefty issues in this song, commenting on everything from greed to death. Jim James takes the reins on this track, singing lead vocals with Elvis Costello and Marcus Mumford backing him. The group of all-star musicians did a great job honoring the legend that is Bob Dylan. The organic instrumentation and overall rustic style stay true to Dylan's classic sound.

Along with the album, Sam Jones has directed a documentary chronicling the making of the record, Lost Songs: The New Basement Tapes, which will air on Showtime November 21st, 2014.

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes will be released on November 11th, 2014, but you preorder the album now on iTunes, Amazon, and the project's official website.

Source: TNBTVEVO YouTube Channel

Bob Dylan Elvis Costello Jim James My Morning Jacket
Americana Bluegrass Classic Rock Folk Folk Rock Pop Rock
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics