"Paper The House" - Fucked Up [YouTube Official Music Video]

Evan Petersen

by Evan Petersen

Published March 18, 2014

In anticipation of their upcoming record, Glass Boys, Fucked Up have released "Paper The House" and an accompanying music video. In addition to the brand new single, the band released the cover art and tracklist for the album.

"Paper The House" has a lot going on. On the surface, it's an anthemic, straight forward punk rock song, but there are several layers underneath. The drums are busy and constantly pushing the song forward, the guitars are bouncing pretty melodies and power chords back and forth, and the bassline glues it all together. Take a listen to it above.

Speaking to CoS about the record, guitarist Mike Haliechuk said:

“This album is about growing up, and that second coming of age you have when you’re already an adult. It’s about being a grown-up and having a job and responsibilities and still feeling fragile and uncertain. It’s also about us being in a band for 12-13 years, and what started as this weird hobby has become almost like a job. We no longer get excited about the music, but we’re the ones making the music that hopefully young kids will hopefully find inspiration from. It’s a tip of the hat to these kids, telling them ‘We were those people, and one day you’ll be us.’ To me, it’s not a down record, but about embracing that life as a continuum.”

Glass Boys tracklist:

01. "Echo Boomer"
02. "Touch Stone"
03. "Sun Glass"
04. "The Art Of Patrons"
05. "Warm Change"
06. "Paper The House"
07. "DET"
08. "Led By Hand"
09. "The Great Divide"
10. "Glass Boys"

Glass Boys will be out June 3rd and you can pre-order it through iTunes or Matador Records. For Fucked Up's upcoming tour dates, check out their official website.



Source: Fucked Up YouTube Channel

Fucked Up
Send Feedback
recommended music
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.