"Paper Wheels" - Trey Anastasio [Official Full Album Stream + Zumic Review]

Francesco Marano

by Francesco Marano

Published October 22, 2015

Trey Anastasio has released his solo album Paper Wheels through Rubber Jungle Records / ATO Records. The 12-track LP was produced by Anastasio and Bryce Goggin, who has worked with Sean Lennon, Spacehog, and Trey's main band, Phish. Paper Wheels was recorded in 2014 at The Barn, Trey's recording studio, and mixed by Elliot Scheiner. Tom Marshall and Steve "The Dude of Life" Pollack are given credit as co-writers on some songs.

The Trey Anastasio Band on this album includes Ray Paczkowski on keyboards, Tony Markellis on bass, and Russ Lawton on drums, with a horn section consisting of trombonist / vocalist Natalie Cressman, trumpeter / vocalist Jennifer Hartswick, and instrumentalist James Casey. The horns add a jazzy funk vibe to the songs, while the rhythm section provides a tighter feel than what you'd expect from Phish. The jamming is nice and focused, with Trey shining on guitar.

The album has feel-good vibes, with soothing harmonies and comfortable grooves. Our favorite songs are "Sometime After Sunset," "Never," "In Rounds," "Lever Boy," "Bounce," and "Speak To Me."

Pick up Paper Wheels on Amazon (Vinyl, CD, MP3). You can also stream the full album above, via Spotify.

Trey will be hitting the road beginning in late October for concerts with his solo band before rejoining Phish to close out the year at Madison Square Garden in NY for four dates. For more information about that, as well as his latest music and news, check out his Zumic artist page.

Trey Anastasio Paper Wheels album cover art
Phish Trey Anastasio
Funk Jambands Psychedelic Singer-Songwriter
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics