"Pythons" - Surfer Blood [Free Album Stream]

Zumic Staff

by Zumic Staff

Published June 3, 2013


Click here to listen to the full album stream through NPR's First Listen

Floridian indie outfit Surfer Blood have been through a lot in the past few years. Two years after the release of their well-received debut album Astro Coast in 2010, the band's frontman John Paul Pitts was arrested for domestic battery. Despite all charges being dropped earlier this year (allegedly following legal compliance from the ostensibly guilty Pitts), the group's reputation as surf-pop wunderkinds was unquestionably damaged and their once bright future brought into question.

All legal issues aside, Surfer Blood have noticeably been churning out several teasers from their forthcoming album Pythons for months—now, the band has released the full album stream available for your listening pleasure at NPR's First Listen. In Pythons, there is a definitive element of familiarity that hearkens back to the band's 2010 release, though far less reverb-soaked and with some improvements in production quality. The album, moreover, includes the band's characteristically sunny, fun, and relaxed sound—undoubtedly a welcomed sound for those seeking some solace near the ocean (or poolside) as the summer heat takes over.

The official release date of Pythons is June 11th via Warner Bros. Records. You can pre-order a deluxe version of the album on iTunes and on cd or vinyl through their official Warner Brothers site.

01. Demon Dance
02. Gravity
03. Weird Shapes
04. I Was Wrong
05. Squeezing Blood from a Stone
06. Say Yes To Me
07. Beyond the Grave AKA Blair Witch
08. Needles and Pines
09. Slow Six
10. Dark 1000s AKA Prom Song


Surfer Blood
Surf Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.