Quilt "Tiny Desk Concert" [NPR Video & Free Download]

Brad Bershad

by Brad Bershad

Published April 26, 2014

NPR Music brings us another gem of a Tiny Desk Concert. This time, the psychedelic rock band Quilt brought their throwback sound to NPR's Washington D.C. headquarters for an 11-minute set consisting of 4 songs, which you can watch above and download for free through NPR:

"Arctic Shark"
"Eye Of The Pearl"
"Mary Mountain"
"Penobska Oakwalk"

The first 3 songs are from Quilt's 2014 album, Held In Splendor, while the last song is from Quilt's 2011 debut self-titled album. The set alternates between lead vocals by Anna Fox Rochinski and Shane Butler. John Andrews and Keven Lareau provide a strong backbone for the tunes, on drums and bass respectively.

Much like the band's name, they weave together patterns and textures of music to form a cohesive whole. On their most recent album, they show that they've evolved as musicians with the ability to play intricate parts flawlessly. The performance here is spot on, and the songwriting is clever and interesting.

If you like this, be sure to check out Quilt's electric performance on KEXP.


Source: NPR Music

Folk Psychedelic Radio
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics