"Rainbow" - Robert Plant [YouTube Audio Stream & Lyrics]

Brad Bershad

by Brad Bershad

Published June 23, 2014

Robert Plant is getting ready to release his 2014 solo album, lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar, September 9th on Nonesuch Records. Above, listen to the first song released from the album, "Rainbow," from Plant's official YouTube channel.

"Rainbow" is a slow moving ballad that's got a really heavy beat, with propulsive drumming accompanied by the traditional rock and roll instrumentation of guitar and bass. Ironically, Plant told Rolling Stone, "There’s a lot of bottom end, so it might sound all right at a Jamaican party, but I’m not sure it would sound all right on NPR," but the song debuted on NPR earlier today. The electronics and high pitched tones on the song sound a bit like something you might hear on a U2 record, but Plant's somber voice as he's advanced in years is unmistakeable.

EDITOR'S NOTE 8.26.2014: As someone pointed out in the comments, the bridge lyrics are taken from a William Morris poem, "Love is Enough."

NPR reports that Robert Plant is planning a fall tour to support the record. For Robert Plant's latest music, news, and tour dates, check out his Zumic artist page.


Robert Plant lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar Tracklist:

1. Little Maggie (Trad. arr. by Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
2. Rainbow (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
3. Pocketful of Golden (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
4. Embrace Another Fall (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
5. Turn It Up (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
6. A Stolen Kiss (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
7. Somebody There (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
8. Poor Howard *
9. House of Love (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
10. Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur) (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
11. Arbaden (Maggie's Babby) (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)

*All songs published by Sons of Einion Ltd and administered by WB Music Corp (ASCAP) except "Poor Howard" [Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Tyson], which is derived from "Po' Howard" and is published by Global Jukebox Publishing (BMI) and Folkways Music Publishers.

Source: Robert Plant YouTube

Led Zeppelin Robert Plant
British Rock Classic Rock Folk Folk Rock Pop Rock Psychedelic World
Send Feedback
recommended music

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics