Ryan Adams Announces New Punk Band Called "Pornography"

Donovan Farley

by Donovan Farley

Published March 18, 2013

The newest music by Ryan Adams is out and you can listen to it above. He's announced that his newest band is a 3-piece punk band called Pornography and their debut 7" record will be entitled... 7 Minutes In Heaven.

Adams also tweeted a picture of the label for the vinyl:

Last week, Adams announced that he will be performing his first full band show since 2009.  He'll also be playing a benefit that features Crosby, Stills and Nash in LA in April and has recently been featured on the Californication and This Is 40 soundtracks.

Pornography consists of singer Leah Hennessey and Rock N Roll-era collaborator Johnny T. Yerington. Hennessey said of the collaboration:

"I told Ryan I wanted to make sad bastard music and the next day he asked me to come sing in his and Johnny's punk band, which is when we wrote and recorded the entirety of 7 Minutes in Heaven... We never give ourselves more than a few minutes to write the songs so we can't really afford to censor ourselves or be less stupid."

Indeed. Seven Minutes In Heaven will be released on Record Store Day via Adams' own Pax Am records and was produced by Gus Oberg, who will reportedly play bass for Pornography's live shows, none of which have been announced yet.

This photo showed up on the glassinebox instagram account of the 3 in the studio:


Via Spin and Ryan Adams Archive

Ryan Adams
Alternative Country Americana Hard Rock Indie-Rock Punk-Rock Rock
Send Feedback
recommended music

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics