"Sister Moon" - The Magpie Salute [YouTube Audio Single]

Mellow yet catchy song from Southern rock vets
Patrick Henkels

by Patrick Henkels

Published August 3, 2018

The Magpie Salute have released "Sister Moon," the fifth track from their upcoming debut studio album, High Water I.  The band, featuring ex-Black Crowes members Rich Robinson, Marc Ford, and Sven Pipien, will release the LP one week from today.  

"Sister Moon" is rooted by John Hogg's choppy piano riff and Pipien's sparse, yet effective bass lines.  The two establish a firm groove that locks in with Joe Magistro's straightforward percussion.  Hogg's vocals soar over the arrangement, as his voice seems to float softly with each passing lyric.  Beautiful slide guitar from Robinson demonstrates the band's country style, each note carefully filling the empty spaces.  Overall, "Sister Moon" is an engaging track that contrasts with the band's earlier, more hard-hitting singles "Send Me An Omen" and "For The Wind." 

Marc Ford described the creation of "Sister Moon" as a result of bonding with Hogg.  The guitarist explained the experience in a statement:

"Sister Moon" came from John and I staying in a house together. We lived together 24 hours a day for ten days. We would just sit, poke at the fire, and tell stories. Many ideas came from that. That's how 'Sister Moon' started. It's so vibey and beautiful. John and I had never met before. The track is like us meeting.

Robinson detailed the process behind the songwriting in a press release, "Marc had originally written it on acoustic, but John took the chords and played them on the piano.  It’s one of my favorite songs on the record." 

High Water I is set for release on August 10, 2018.  You can stream the album on Amazon and other major streaming services. 

For more music, news, and tour dates, check out The Magpie Salute's Zumic artist page.

The Black Crowes The Magpie Salute
Blues Rock Southern Rock
Send Feedback
recommended music
image for article Best Traditional Rock Songs of 2017
October 26, 2018
Music Blues Rock Country Rock Folk Rock Garage Rock Glam Rock Psychedelic Rock Rock Aaron Keylock Anders Osborne Benjamin Booker Beverly Jo Scott Billy Bragg Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears Blitzen Trapper BNQT Bob Clearmountain Bob Dylan Bob Seger Cage The Elephant Cat Clyde Chris Robinson Brotherhood Chuck Prophet Conor Oberst Courtney Barnett Craig Finn Creature and the Woods Dan Auerbach Darius Rucker David Bowie Dawes Dead Man Winter Deer Tick Delicate Steve Drew Holcomb Drive-By Truckers Foo Fighters Francis Arnaud Gary Clark Jr. Gov't Mule Grateful Dead Gregg Allman Greta Van Fleet Hiss Golden Messenger Hurray for the Riff Raff Ian Moore Jason Isbell Jerry Garcia Jerry Garcia Band Jimmie Vaughan Joe Bonamassa John Jorgenson John Mayer Justin Townes Earle Kevin Morby Kevin Reveyrand King Crimson King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard King Khan Kings of Leon Korey Dane Kurt Vile Langhorne Slim Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires Liam Gallagher Little Barrie Los Colognes Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real Mild High Club Mondo Cozmo Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats Neil Young Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds Paul Personne Paul Simon Pearl Jam Queen Ray Davies Roadcase Royale Robben Ford Robert Plant Robert Randolph & The Family Band Roger Waters Ron Bumblefoot Thal Ron Gallo Ryan Adams Sheryl Crow Son Volt Strand of Oaks Tedeschi Trucks Band The Barr Brothers The Beatles The Bros. Landreth The Darkness The Magpie Salute The Rolling Stones The String Cheese Incident The War on Drugs The Wood Brothers together PANGEA Tony Molina Ty Segall and The Freedom Band U2 Wild Adriatic Playlist