"Statesboro Blues" - Allman Brothers Live at the Beacon Theatre 1992 [SoundCloud Audio]

Brad Bershad

by Brad Bershad

Published January 8, 2014

This year, The Allman Brothers Band celebrates 45 years as one of the greatest and most influential bands in the history of rock music. They will be returning to the Beacon Theatre in New York City for 10 concerts during March in what has become an annual tradition. Before this year's Beacon run, The Allman Brothers will be releasing an album called Play All Night: Live at the Beacon Theatre 1992 which is set for release on February 18th via their Hittin' The Note website. Listen above, via a SoundCloud stream posted to Rolling Stone earlier today.

The beginning of the song sounds a bit like "Les Brers In A Minor" from the classic 1972 album Eat a Peach. Then the "Statesboro Blues" kicks off at around the 1:30 mark of the recording. Original members Gregg Allman, Dickey Betts, Butch Trucks, and Jai Johanny "Jaimoe" Johanson were joined by recently added members Warren Haynes, Allen Woody, and Marc Quiñones. It's the same lineup and very similar to two previously released live '90s albums by The Allman Brothers, An Evening with the Allman Brothers Band: 1st Set and 2nd Set.

Rolling Stone has a couple quotes from Gregg Allman and Warren Haynes about this particular "Statesboro Blues":

"That night contained a particularly swampy version of 'Statesboro Blues': different from the famed [1971's At Fillmore East] version, but reminiscent nonetheless," says Warren Haynes, who had recently joined the band at the time of the shows. Adds Gregg Allman, "It's a good boogie. You know, people like it. It's got soul, you know what I mean?"

Play All Night: Live at the Beacon Theatre 1992 Tracklist:


1. Statesboro Blues 7:00
2. You Don’t Love Me 6:38
3. End Of The Line 5:45
4. Blue Sky 7:34
5. Nobody Knows 13:20
6. Low Down Dirty Mean 7:20
7. Seven Turns 4:41
8. Midnight Rider 3:20
9. Come On In My Kitchen 6:02


1. Guitar Intro / Hoochie Coochie Man 10:01
2. Jessica 10:01
3. Get On With Your Life 8:18
4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed 20:58
5. Revival 5:46
6. Dreams 11:20
7. Whipping Post 11:36

Source: Legacy Recordings SoundCloud and Hittin' The Note
Via: Rolling Stone


Allman Brothers Band Dickey Betts Gregg Allman Warren Haynes
Americana Blues Blues Rock Classic Rock Jamband Jazz Psychedelic Rock Southern Rock
Send Feedback