"I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am" - Merle Haggard Live In 1970 [SoundCloud Audio Stream]

Evan Petersen

by Evan Petersen

Published March 20, 2014

Following 1969's release of his hit live record Okie From Muskogee, Merle Haggard released The Fightin' Side Of Me, a record which has been out of print for 40 years. Now, both live records are getting re-released as a special edition 2-CD set.

The "lost" version of "I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am" stays pretty true to the original, with few changes to the pace or music, but it's a stellar performance. It's truly a snapshot of the outlaw legend's heyday, with Haggard's vocals soaring over the beautifully played song. Take a listen above.

The Fightin' Side Of Me was recorded in Philadelphia in 1970. The reissue will be out via Capitol Nashville on March 25th and you can pre-order it at Amazon.

Disc One: Okie From Muskogee tracklist:

1. "Introduction by Carlton Haney"
2. "Mama Tried"
3. "No Hard Times"
4. "Silver Wings"
5. "Merle Receives Key To Muskogee"
6. "Merle's Introduction to Medley"
7. "Medley: Swinging Doors"
8. "Medley: I'm A Lonesome Fugitive"
9. "Medley: Sing Me Back Home"
10. "Medley: Branded Man"
11. "In The Arms Of Love"
12. "Workin' Man Blues"
13. "Merle's Introduction To 'Hobo Bill'"
14. "Hobo Bill's Last Ride"
15. "Billy Overcame His Size"
16. "If I Had Left It Up To You"
17. "White Line Fever"
18. "Blue Rock"
19. "Introduction To 'Okie From Muskogee'"
20. "Okie From Muskogee"

Disc Two: The Fightin' Side Of Me:

1. "Opening Theme: Hammin' It Up"
2. "I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am"
3. "Corrine Corrina"
4. "Every Fool Has A Rainbow"
5. "T.B. Blues"
6. "When Did Right Become So Wrong"
7. "Philadelphia Lawyer"
8. "Stealin' Corn"
9. "Harold's Super Service"
10. "Medley: Devil Woman"
11. "Medley: I'm Movin' On"
12. "Medley: Folsom Prison Blues"
13. "Medley: Jackson"
14. "Medley: Orange Blossom Special"
15. "Medley: Love's Gonna Live Here"
16. "Today I Started Loving You Again"
17. "Okie From Muskogee"
18. "The Fightin' Side Of Me"


Source: UME Songs SoundCloud
Via: Rolling Stone

Merle Haggard
Americana Classic Country Country
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics