"The Civil Wars" - The Civil Wars [Full Album Stream]

Jimmy Haas

by Jimmy Haas

Published July 30, 2013

After a brief hiatus, The Civil Wars are following up their critically acclaimed debut album with a self-titled sophomore effort that you can stream in its entirety on Spotify (above) or buy on iTunes.

The folk/country duo's new album has the same beautiful harmonies and melodies, but the darker, more angry edge to much of the music brings a haunting quality to many of the songs, including a very impressive take on the Smashing Pumpkins' "Disarm." Their very public feud seems to have carried over a bit into the music, but the results are still something to behold. There's no doubt that even at each others' throats, Joy Williams and John Paul White are capable of making beautiful music.

The Civil Wars Track List:
1. “The One That Got Away”
2. “I Had Me a Girl”
3. “Same Old Same Old”
4. “Dust to Dust”
5. “Eavesdrop”
6. “Devil’s Backbone”
7. “From This Valley”
8. “Tell Mama”
9. “Oh Henry”
10. “Disarm”
11. “Sacred Heart”
12. D’Arline


The Civil Wars
Country Folk
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.