"The Left Is Right" - Desaparecidos [YouTube Official Audio Stream]

Noah Zipper

by Noah Zipper

Published June 9, 2015

For the first time in 13 years, Conor Oberst's punk outfit Desaparecidos are releasing a new album. Payola will contain multiple tracks released back in 2012 and 2013, as well as new ones. "The Left Is Right" is one of two tracks that have just been re-released, with an official YouTube and Spotify version now available for streaming.

The track is a return of the bright, aggressive, emotional, and political punk rock of the 2002 album, Read Music / Speak Spanish. The production may be a bit more clean, but the edgy and underground sound hasn't dissipated during the hiatus.

The lyrics Oberst writes are as politically poignant as ever, speaking about pitching tents on "statehouse steps." Many lyrics such as this are possibly alluding to the Occupy Wall Street Movement, a hot topic at the time of the song's initial release.

You can pick up Payola, set to be released June 23, on Amazon (Vinyl, CD, MP3).

For the latest music, news, and tour dates from Desaparecidos, check out their Zumic artist page.


Payola Album Cover
Payola Tracklist:

1. The Left Is Right
2. The Underground Man
3. City on the Hill [ft. Tim Kasher] 
4. Golden Parachutes [ft. Laura Jane Grace] 
5. Radicalized
6. MariKKKopa
7. Te Amo Camila Vallejo
8. Ralphy's Cut
9. Backsell
10. Slacktivist [ft. So So Glos] 
11. Search the Searches
12. 10 Steps Behind
13. Von Maur Massacre
14. Anonymous

Conor Oberst Desaparecidos
Emo Politics Post-punk Punk-Rock
Send Feedback
recommended music

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.

Web Analytics