"The One That Got Away" - The Civil Wars [YouTube Audio]

Arielle Cruz

by Arielle Cruz

Published June 12, 2013

The Civil Wars are back. After the duo won two Grammy's last year — Best Country Duo-Group Performance and Best Folk Album — and their debut album Barton Hollow reached the top 15 on Billboard charts, the excitement about the new group hit a high. However, due to some internal issues, the warriors cancelled last years highly anticipated tour. But now, to many fans' relief, The Civil Wars have now announced a new, self titled album and released the first new single from it. Hopefully, *fingers crossed*, they will attempt to go on tour again later this year.

The new single, "The One That Got Away," is haunting. Joy Williams takes over the majority of the vocals, lamenting over a lover that she wishes she had never fallen for. John Paul White can still be heard, and his harmonies with Williams are beautiful, as always. The folk duo, while still folky, is making additions to their sound with hints of electric guitar and drums that were never as present on Barton Hollow on this new track. We're excited to hear more.

The new album comes out on August 6th.

The Civil Wars Tracklist:
1. The One That Got Away
2. I Had Me a Girl
3. Same Old Same Old
4. Dust to Dust
5. Eavesdrop
6. Devil’s Backbone
7. From This Valley
8. Tell Mama
9. Oh Henry
10. Disarm
11. Sacred Heart
12. D’Arline

The Civil Wars
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.