"The Pablo Cuckoo Tape" - The Smiths [Early Demo Tape]

Donovan Farley

by Donovan Farley

Published March 22, 2013

Here's a treat for fans of The Smiths, a early demo recorded before the release of their 1984 album The Smiths.  The 1983 tape was recorded in a blue jeans factory on a cassette player.  The source of the tape posted the following on Youtube as to the origins of the tape:

"I was lent the master cassette by a source close to the band who made the recording, let's call him Pablo Cuckoo in 1997 with a view of trying to put it out as a semi-official release.? As it was recorded before the band had signed to Rough Trade, technically he had the rights to the recording. But a combination of poor sound quality & threats from Warner Bros meant that the idea was shelved."

The Pablo Cuckoo Tape track list:
'You've Got Everything Now'
'Accept Yourself'
'What Difference Does It Make?'
'Reel Around The Fountain'
'These Things Take Time'
'I Don't Owe You Anything'
'Hand In Glove'
'Handsome Devil'
'Miserable Lie'


Johnny Marr Morrissey The Smiths
Classic Rock Indie Pop
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.