"The Truth" - Dr. Dog [YouTube Lyric Video]

Arielle Cruz

by Arielle Cruz

Published July 22, 2013

Dr. Dog is coming out with a new album! This exciting news came out today along with a lyric video for first track on upcoming album B-Room, entitled "The Truth."

B-Room will be the first Dr. Dog album recorded somewhere other than "Meth Beach." After eight long years recording at the "Meth Beach" studio, Dr. Dog decided that it was time for a change. So, hoping to replicate the success of Become the Void, the band picked up their things and got ready to create B-Room in brand new digs, specifically, their own studio. According to a statement with Anti, the band's bassist-vocalist Toby Leaman said, “The whole process of recording really started with building the studio.”

Now that construction on the studio is finished and the album has an official release date, October 1st, Dr. Dog has given us a taste of the new album with "The Truth." The song has a slower tempo than a lot of the songs on Be the Void, but the sound is lively and filled with pure soul. Though the topic of "The Truth" is sad, Dr. Dog uses their pure charm and light keyboard tunes to keep us feeling hopeful. Set over a backdrop of old footage of Philadelphia, "The Truth" is about the unrelenting cruelty of the truth, but after watching for a while, the song begins to feel more like it is about the mean spirit of the passage of time.

Take a look for yourself above and listen to "The Truth." Then check out the fill track list for B-Room below.

B-Room Track Listing:
1. The Truth
2. Broken Heart
3. Minding the Usher
4. Distant Light
5. Phenomenon
6. Too Weak to Ramble
7. Long Way Down
8. Cuckoo
9. Twilight
10. Rock & Roll
11. Love
12. Nellie


Dr. Dog
Psychedelic Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.