"The Underground Man" - Desaparecidos [YouTube Official Audio Stream]

Noah Zipper

by Noah Zipper

Published June 9, 2015

In anticipation of their new album, Payola, political punk band Desaparecidos -- fronted by Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes fame -- have re-released the single "The Underground Man."

The track is fast and loud. With distorted guitar and a bombastic drum beat, this track doesn't let up at any point, and features the same tone they showcased on their 2002 release, Read Music / Speak Spanish.

Oberst has a wonderful emotive quality in his voice that shines through on these tracks, conveying various feelings without sacrificing his volume or timbre when the vocals turn to a scream at a couple points in the track.

The album will feature a couple artists prominent in indie, hardcore, and punk scenes like Tim Kasher of Cursive, The So So Glos, and Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! (who's earlier releases bare much resemblance to this single).

You can pick up Payola, set to be released June 23, on Amazon (Vinyl, CD, MP3).

For the latest music, news, and tour dates from Desaparecidos, check out their Zumic artist page.


Payola Album Cover
Payola Tracklist:

1. The Left Is Right
2. The Underground Man
3. City on the Hill [ft. Tim Kasher] 
4. Golden Parachutes [ft. Laura Jane Grace] 
5. Radicalized
6. MariKKKopa
7. Te Amo Camila Vallejo
8. Ralphy's Cut
9. Backsell
10. Slacktivist [ft. So So Glos] 
11. Search the Searches
12. 10 Steps Behind
13. Von Maur Massacre
14. Anonymous

Conor Oberst Desaparecidos
Emo Rock Post-punk
Send Feedback
recommended music
image for article Best Traditional Rock Songs of 2017
October 26, 2018
Music Blues Rock Country Rock Folk Rock Garage Rock Glam Rock Psychedelic Rock Rock Aaron Keylock Anders Osborne Benjamin Booker Beverly Jo Scott Billy Bragg Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears Blitzen Trapper BNQT Bob Clearmountain Bob Dylan Bob Seger Cage The Elephant Cat Clyde Chris Robinson Brotherhood Chuck Prophet Conor Oberst Courtney Barnett Craig Finn Creature and the Woods Dan Auerbach Darius Rucker David Bowie Dawes Dead Man Winter Deer Tick Delicate Steve Drew Holcomb Drive-By Truckers Foo Fighters Francis Arnaud Gary Clark Jr. Gov't Mule Grateful Dead Gregg Allman Greta Van Fleet Hiss Golden Messenger Hurray for the Riff Raff Ian Moore Jason Isbell Jerry Garcia Jerry Garcia Band Jimmie Vaughan Joe Bonamassa John Jorgenson John Mayer Justin Townes Earle Kevin Morby Kevin Reveyrand King Crimson King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard King Khan Kings of Leon Korey Dane Kurt Vile Langhorne Slim Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires Liam Gallagher Little Barrie Los Colognes Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real Mild High Club Mondo Cozmo Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats Neil Young Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds Paul Personne Paul Simon Pearl Jam Queen Ray Davies Roadcase Royale Robben Ford Robert Plant Robert Randolph & The Family Band Roger Waters Ron Bumblefoot Thal Ron Gallo Ryan Adams Sheryl Crow Son Volt Strand of Oaks Tedeschi Trucks Band The Barr Brothers The Beatles The Bros. Landreth The Darkness The Magpie Salute The Rolling Stones The String Cheese Incident The War on Drugs The Wood Brothers together PANGEA Tony Molina Ty Segall U2 Wild Adriatic Playlist
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.