"Vicious" - Halestorm [Spotify Full Album Stream + Zumic Review]

Hard hitting riffs mixed with soaring vocals
Francesco Marano

by Francesco Marano

Published July 27, 2018
Halestorm Vicious album cover art


Combining hard rocking riffs with fiery solos, thunderous drums, steady bass, and Lzzy Hale's powerful vocals, Pennsylvania band Halestorm prove they are a force to be reckoned with on their fourth studio album Vicious.

Featuring 12 tracks spanning 43 minutes, the LP was recorded at Nashville's Rock Falcon studio with producer Nick Raskulinecz.  If you are not familiar with the band, they are Lzzy Hale (Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Synths), Joe Hottinger (Lead Guitar, Vocals, Synths, Astral Whip), Josh Smith (Bass Guitar, Piano, Vocals, Synths), and Arejay Hale (Drums, Vocals).

Beginning with the hard-hitting opening track "Black Vultures," Halestorm assert their ability to craft head-banging riffs that compliment Lzzy's energetic vocals.  Throughout the album, songs like "Skulls," "Uncomfortable," and "Killing Ourselves To Live" display the band's ability to craft energetic songs ranging from metal to heavy rock.  Hale's impressive talents stand out in the tracks "Conflicted," "Heart Of Novocaine," and "The Silence," where she tones down her aggressive delivery and sings with a softer passion that emphasizes the song's lyrics. 

Lzzy spoke about how the new album is a great representation of the band in an interview with Blabbermouth:

In my opinion, this is gonna be the first record… And we always say this, we hope we get better as musicians as we go on, with each record.  But this is gonna be the first record where you can really hear all four corners of Halestorm and what makes us a band.  And if any of you have ever seen us live, I think this is the closest to what you see when you see us live.  In a lot of these records that we put out, 'Okay, we have a catchy song, and I sing on it,' and then that's about it.  So there's so many different layers to this record that I'm so proud to show everybody.

Vicious is a strong album that flows from track to track and is diverse enough to show the band's talents for crafting hard rock songs and soft ballads.  Some listeners may find the songs too generic or radio-friendly, but that's a matter of personal taste.

Our favorite songs are "Black Vultures," "Buzz," "Killing Ourselves To Live," "Painkiller," "White Dress," and "The Silence."

Vicious is currently available on Amazon and most major streaming services.  You can stream the full album below on Spotify.

The band is currently on a North American tour with In This Moment and New Years Day.  For concert tickets and more, check out the Halestorm Zumic artist page.

Alternative Metal Hard Rock Rock
Send Feedback

Hand-Picked Music for Your Taste

Follow artists, discover new music, and personalize your music experience.
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.