"Will Calls" (Marfa Demo) - Grizzly Bear [YouTube Audio]

Patrick Lyons

by Patrick Lyons

Published September 17, 2013

Today Grizzly Bear announced a deluxe edition of their 2012 album Shields that will include eight new B-sides, remixes and demos. "Will Calls" is one of those new songs, recorded in Marfa, Texas.

A nuanced track with a jazzy feel, "Will Calls" has thus far astounded listeners. Sample comments from YouTube include, "No way is this a b-side," and "It feels like a beginning of a whole new album, on another level of brilliance." We'd have to agree with those commenters, as "Will Calls" showcases layered composition that was only hinted at on Shields' original tracks.

Shields: Expanded will be released on November 12th, alongside an EP entitled Shields: B-Sides that will only include the eight bonus tracks (way to save your diehard fans some money, Grizzly Bear!). Check out the Shields: B-Sides tracklist and listen to Nicolas Jaar's remix of "Sleeping Ute" below.

01 Smothering Green (Bonus Track)
02 Taken Down (Marfa Demo)
03 Listen and Wait (Bonus Track)
04 Everyone I Know (Marfa Demo)
05 Will Calls (Marfa Demo)
06 Sleeping Ute (Nicolas Jaar Remix)
07 A Simple Answer (Liars Remix)
08 Gun-Shy (Lindstrøm Remix)


Grizzly Bear
Folk Rock Psychedelic Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.