"Matangi" - M.I.A. [YouTube Album Stream]

Karl-Lydie Jean-Baptiste

by Karl-Lydie Jean-Baptiste

Published November 1, 2013

After a year of false alarms, M.I.A.'s fourth studio album, Matangi is available to stream. Click the video player above to listen to the album in full.

The 15-track album begins with the repetitive bass and mellow verses of "Karmageddon," which ends abruptly after the warning, "You're about to meet your karma." As is expected with any M.I.A. project Matangi is full of traditional horns, percussion and music samples. Most notable is the dance break at the end of the title track.

"Double Bubble Trouble" switches between Reggae, Trap and Indian influences to make a great head banger. "Exodus" and Sexodus" are almost identical and sample "Lonely Star" by The Weeknd. A louder bass and brass on the latter gives the song more of a sexy R&B feeling.

As one of the most anticipated albums of 2013 Matangi has lived up to the hype. Every track is different and exactly what fans would expect from M.I.A. We don't need the reminder from "Come Walk With Me" that says, "M.I.A. is coming back with power." Matangi has proved that.

Matangi Tracklisting:

1. Karmageddon
2. Matangi
3. Only 1 U
4. Warriors
5. Come Walk With Me
6. aTENTion
7. Exodus (ft The Weeknd)
8. Bad Girls
9. Boom (Skit)
10. Double Bubble Trouble
11. Y.A.L.A
12. Bring the Noize
13. Lights
14. Know It Ain't Right
15. Sexodus (ft The Weeknd)

The official release date is November 5. Pre-order Matangi on iTunes and Amazon.


Source: Vevo

M.I.A. The Weeknd
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.