"Funny Little Tragedy" - Gov't Mule ft Elvis Costello [Soundcloud Stream]

Jimmy Haas

by Jimmy Haas

Published July 30, 2013

Gov't Mule's upcoming double album, Shout!, is getting people pretty excited. As previously reported, the first disc will be an 11-track album of new material, and the second disc will be the same songs, but with other singers lending the vocals to the tracks.

The first pair of tracks were released by Gov't Mule recently, so you can hear the first bit of what is sure to be an impressive album. "Funny Little Tragedy" definitely has a strong punk-rock influence, which is a sign of Gov't Mule's willingness to try new things on this album. The first version is just Gov't Mule, but the second version is sung by Elvis Costello, who brings his own style to the southern-rock-jamband-playing-punk-rock song. As you can imagine, it's worth a listen.

Shout! will be released on September 20. You can pre-order it from Gov't Mule's official website. Check out the full track list below.

Shout! Track List:
Disc 1:
1. World Boss
2. No Reward
3. Whisper In Your Soul
4. Captured
5. Scared To Live
6. Stoop So Low
7. Forsaken Savior
8. Done Got Wise
9. When The World Gets Small
10. Funny Little Tragedy
11. Bring On The Music

Disc 2:
1. World Boss w/ Ben Harper
2. Funny Little Tragedy w/ Elvis Costello
3. Stoop So Low w/ Dr. John
4. Captured w/ Jim James
5. Whisper In Your Soul w/ Grace Potter
6. Scared To Live w/ Toots Hibbert
7. No Reward w/ Glenn Hughes
8. Bring On The Music w/ Ty Taylor
9. Forsaken Savior w/ Dave Matthews
10. Done Got Wise w/ Myles Kennedy
11. When The World Gets Small w/ Steve Winwood


Via: Rolling Stone

Elvis Costello Gov't Mule
Blues Rock Jamband Southern Rock
Send Feedback
Registration and login will only work if you allow cookies. Please check your settings and try again.